Federal Cabinet establishes Engineering Development Board


The federal cabinet on Thursday established Engineering Development Board (EDB) and appointed Almas Hyder its chairman. As per press media report.

The constitution of the EDB has been accomplished with vigorous efforts of Prime Minister’s Advisor on Commerce, Textile, Industries and Production and Investment, Abdul Razak Dawood. According to sources, the Board Members from the government have been appointed as secretary industries production, secretary commerce, secretary finance, secretary science & technology, secretary defence production and chairman Federal Board of Revenue.

While, the members from the private sector will be Almas Hyder (also chairman EDB), Senator Nauman Wazir Khattak, Nasir Hameed, Abbas Akber Ali, Syed Nabeel Hashmi, Khawar Tawfiq Sheikh, Muhammad Faisal Afzal, Sikandar Mustafa Khan, Muhammad Murad Saigol, EngKhawar Anwar Khawaja, Saqib H Shirazi and representative of new entrants in auto sector (Renault Alfattaim).

Industrial sector has appreciated and welcomed the government’s decision of establishing the EDB and hoped that the board will do every possible effort for the growth and development of industrial sector of Pakistan.

by Aqsa Mirza